Raipur Cricket Stadium ODI records: Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium records and highest ODI innings totals

Dixit Bhargav
|Published January 20, 2023

The second ODI of the ongoing New Zealand’s tour of India will be played in Raipur tomorrow. Irrespective of the result, the match will be remembered in history for being the first-ever international cricket match in the city.

Unbeaten in this format this year, an in-form Indian team would be wanting to start their campaign at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium on a winning note. The same will also guarantee them a seventh consecutive ODI series victory at home.

With both the teams coming on the back of a blockbuster first ODI in Hyderabad on Wednesday, fans in Raipur will be hoping for a similar nail-biting contest on Saturday as well.

In spite of winning the last match, India might still look to make a spot for fast bowler Umran Malik in their Playing XI in this match. New Zealand, meanwhile, have a scope of making a change each in the batting and bowling departments.

Raipur Cricket Stadium ODI records

With no international match being ever played here, it is needless to say that there aren’t any ODI records with respect to this stadium. Raipur, however, has hosted a total of 29 T20s across Indian Premier League 2013, Champions League Twenty20 2014, Indian Premier League 2015, Indian Premier League 2016 and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2017-18.

While it isn’t entirely fair to compare records between the two most commonly played white-ball formats, doing the same in this particular case might aid fans a bid regarding gaining some knowledge about Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium.

Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium records in T20s

Although not part of either squads on this tour, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson is the highest T20 run-scorer at this venue amassing 223 runs across five innings at an average of 55.75 and a strike rate of 159.29 including a century and two half-centuries.

India batters Rajat Patidar (132) and Virat Kohli (54) are the only two batters part of the current squads of both the teams to have played participated in a Rajkot T20 in the past.

New Zealand pacers Tim Southee and Trent Boult are among the top overseas T20 bowlers here but neither of the two are part of the current squad just like Williamson. On the contrary, Yuzvendra Chahal (3), Ish Sodhi (3) and Kuldeep Yadav (3) are the only names among current players to have dismissed batters in Raipur T20s.

Highest innings totals in Raipur T20s

206/520Northern DistrictsCape Cobras2014
178/320Hobart HurricanesNorthern Districts2014
170/620Northern DistrictsLahore Lions2014

The 200-run mark has been touched only once in T20s played at this stadium. IPL franchise Mumbai Indians hold the record for the highest successful run-chase here for chasing down a 162-run target against Southern Express over eight years ago.

NOTE: A standard disclaimer around the difference between the two formats applies around highest innings totals as well.

Share this article

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav

Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who is currently into his fifth year as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. His first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav