mobile app bar

SRH vs PBKS Man of the Match today IPL match: Who won Man of the Match award in Hyderabad vs Punjab 2022 match?

Dixit Bhargav

SRH vs PBKS Man of the Match today IPL match: Who won Man of the Match award in Hyderabad vs Punjab 2022 match?

SRH vs PBKS Man of the Match: The all-rounder from Punjab Kings won his second Indian Premier League match award tonight.

During the 70th match of the ongoing 15th season of the Indian Premier League between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings at the Wankhede Stadium, Punjab Kings beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 5 wickets.

Chasing a 158-run target, Kings registered their seventh but inconsequential victory of the season on the back of Liam Livingstone smashing 49* (22) with the help of two fours and five sixes. The Englishman striking at 222.72 was a primary reason behind Punjab winning with 29 balls to spare on Sunday.

Other than Livingstone, Shikhar Dhawan (39), Jonny Bairstow (23), Jitesh Sharma (19) and Shahrukh Khan (19) also hit some eye-catching boundaries tonight.

SRH vs PBKS Man of the Match today IPL match

Asked to bowl first by SRH captain Bhuvneshwar Kumar, PBKS managed to reduce the opposition to 157/8 in 20 overs. All-rounder Harpreet Brar was the pick of their bowlers as his figures of 4-0-26-3 comprised of wickets of Rahul Tripathi (20), Abhishek Sharma (43) and Aiden Markram (21) to make him win the match award for the second time in the IPL.

“When we came here [Wankhede Stadium], we thought it was a good pitch for the spinners. I have conceded runs [at an economy rate of 9.12] and so have the other  finger spinners in the tournament, so I wanted to finish on a good note today. I just tried to bowl in the right areas and I wanted to keep calm under pressure. I tried to work on my skills as much as possible,” Brar told Star Sports during the post-match presentation ceremony.

Playing only his second match of the season, pacer Nathan Ellis also picked three wickets but leaked 40 runs in the process. Apart from Brar and Ellis, Kagiso Rabada also picked a wicket in the form of Priyam Garg (4).

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav


Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who works as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. Having written more than 10,000 articles across more than five years at TSR, his first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav

Share this article