Jimmy Neesham posts hilarious tweet: The Kiwi all-rounder indirectly poked fun at ICC after the amendment was made.
ICC (International Cricket Council) had received plentiful criticism regarding their super over rule during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. According to the then rule, the team scoring more boundaries throughout the match will be declared as the winner in case of a super over ends in a tie.
It was the same rule which played pivotal role in England lifting their maiden World Cup earlier this year. A major section of the audiences including New Zealand all-rounder James Neesham had shared their disappointment with respect to the Kiwis losing the final match in such a manner.
Jimmy Neesham posts hilarious tweet
In a welcome change made to the rule during the boards meeting in Dubai, the “boundary count” rule has been shelved. From now on, if a knockout match of either of the 50-over World Cup or the T20I World Cup witnesses a tied super over, teams will play another super over. The process will continue until a clear winner is found.
An ICC statement said that the change was “in keeping with the basic principle of scoring more runs than the opponent to win,” and added that both its cricket committee and the chief executives’ committee agreed the Super Over represented an “exciting and engaging conclusion” to a game.
Following the development, Neesham took to social media platform Twitter to post a hilarious tweet regarding the new rule.
Next on the agenda: Better binoculars for the Ice spotters on the Titanic https://t.co/nwUp4Ks3Mp
— Jimmy Neesham (@JimmyNeesh) October 14, 2019
It is worth mentioning that not just the tied knockout matches but all tied matches of the ODI and T20I World Cup will witness a super over. However, the new rule will only be applicable in knockout matches. A tied super over in a league match will see the match ending in a tie.