Lionel Messi: Chilean Goalkeeper slams Messi and brings up Argentina’s sordid past following his claims of corruption in the recently concluded Copa America.
Lionel Messi has been a part of one too many disappointing International tournaments. However, the Argentine stalwart will definitely rank the recently concluded Copa America as his worst.
Messi’s own individual performance was dismal in the tournament scoring only one goal and failing to find the net from open play. He blamed the pitches before his semi-final encounter with Brazil. Messi had a better showing in the semi-final however he found himself on the losing side owing to some poor refereeing decisions.
To make matters worse another blunder by the referee saw Messi’s campaign end with a red card. This was the final straw as Messi refused to accept his third-place medal. He went on to blame the tournament for corruption and alleged that Brazil were fixed to win.
“You have to be ‘shameless’ to claim now for arbitration,”
“Argentina was hanging on for the World Cup and they sanctioned him for four games against Chile for insulting a referee. We were all there, and when he gets the punishment, he gets banned for one game and ends up playing very well against Ecuador. What are you talking about now?”
“They have two cups of the world: one in dictatorship and another with a goal with the hand,”.
“Now it’s your turn to lose, and keep quiet.” (H/T OLE)
Lionel Messi was also slammed by CONMEBOL. They called Messi’s comments unacceptable and said that it showed his lack of respect for Copa America. The Barca stalwart is now staring at the possibility of a two-year ban. If the Ban is applied, Messi will miss out on the 2022 world cup qualifications and 2020 Copa America in Argentina and Colombia. With Messi no longer a young buck, this might even bring the curtains down on his international career.
Click here for more football news