Virat Kohli walks without edging the ball: The Indian captain was mistaken with respect to his own dismissal against Pakistan.
During the 22nd match of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between India and Pakistan at Old Trafford, India captain Virat Kohli ruled himself out despite not edging the ball behind to Pakistan captain and wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed.
It all happened on the fourth ball of the 48th over when Kohli tried to miss a Mohammad Amir delivery. In what appeared like the batsman missing the ball altogether, Kohli started walking as the Pakistani players appealed for a caught-behind dismissal.
When replays were shown, ultra edge confirmed that Kohli hadn’t edged the ball. Some other replays put on display sight of Kohli and India wicket-keeper batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni checking his bat with respect to any voice coming out from it. At times, spring handles present in the bat also produce a sound.
Coming in to bat at No. 3 in the 24th over, Kohli scored his 51st ODI half-century to power India to 336/5 in their allotted quota of 50 overs. Kohli’s 98-run partnership for the second wicket alongside his deputy Rohit Sharma played a pivotal role for the same.
Before getting out, Kohli 77 (65) with the help of seven fours. What remained the highlight of his innings was him becoming the fastest batsman to score 11,000 ODI runs.
Virat Kohli walks without edging the ball:
How Twitter reacted:
— Gaurav Kalra (@gauravkalra75) June 16, 2019
— Aman (@humourously_urs) June 16, 2019
— Piers Morgan (@piersmorgan) June 16, 2019
The only person to dismiss Virat Kohli is himself. #INDvPAK
— Sreshth Shah (@sreshthx) June 16, 2019
For more cricket-related news, click here.