mobile app bar

West Indies tour of India: Windies announce test squad for India tour

Atharva Khadilkar

Windies has announced their test squad for matches against India. West Indies tour of India is scheduled to begin in October.

India are currently busy in England in a test series that is expected to go right down to the wire. The men in Blue are hoping to tie a five match series with a 2-2 score ahead of the last one having been 2-0 down. The momentum is on their side and anything can happen considering the killer instinct of the team.

Unfortunately, the ODIs were not kind towards them but Ravi Shastri’s team does have a chance to make amends soon. It has now been announced officially that Caribbean side West Indies will tour India in the month of October. It will be a series of all the three formats that will go on until mid-November.

The start will see both the teams play two test matches, beginning on the 4th of October and 12th of October respectively. Subsequently, there will be an ODI series of five matches starting from the 21st of October, The second, third and fourth matches will be contested on 24th, 27th and 29th of October. Finally, the fifth and last will be played on 1st November.

Starting from the week that begins on the 4th of November, the wrap up of the series will commence, there will be a three match T20 meeting, with the second and third matches to be played on the 6th and 11th respectively.

Also read: Virat Kohli on India’s playing XI for the fourth test

The locations and stadiums where the matches will be held are yet to be announced by either the BCCI or the WCB, however, with as many as ten matches to be played, it is expected that every major city will host at least one.

The team will also play Australia starting on 21st November. However, the attentions now have to firmly be on the England match, day one of the fourth test gets underway on Thursday, the 30th of August.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (c), Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican.

About the author

Share this article