Brendan Taylor hit-wicket: The Zimbabwean captain’s innings was brought to an end by an unusual mode of dismissal today.
During the second ODI of the ongoing Bangladesh’s tour of Zimbabwe in Harare, Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor’s dismissal sparked a debate among the cricketing fraternity regarding the legality of the dismissal.
It all happened on the second delivery of the 25th over when Taylor aimed to ramp Bangladesh pacer Shoriful Islam. Having missed the shot altogether, Taylor was seen shadow practicing just as the ball was collected by wicket-keeper Liton Das.
In the process, Taylor ended up deflecting the bails with his bat which led the umpires to check for multiple replays. The confusion was eventually solved when Taylor was given out hit wicket.
While his bat did hit the wickets, one side of the debate was around how the ball should’ve been dead after being collected by the keeper. Therefore, nothing wrong with Taylor deflecting the bails.
In what was a case of perception, it is hard to comment as to what umpire Marais Erasmus was thinking before ruling the batsman out at the Harare Sports Club. Coming in to bat at No. 4 in the sixth over after winning the toss and electing to bat, Taylor departed after scoring a stroke-filled 46 (57) with the help of five fours and a six.
Brendan Taylor hit-wicket vs Bangladesh
— Santokie (@Santokie89) July 18, 2021
How Twitterati reacted:
Brendan Taylor hit wicket – Tricky, but incorrect decision IMO.
Ball already received, and not setting off for a run either. https://t.co/xiuij6DUpD
— Karthik Lakshmanan (@lk_karthik) July 18, 2021
Brendan Taylor 😂😂😂😂 pic.twitter.com/jmOL5YsdsE
— Mark McBurney (@markmcburney) July 18, 2021
Brendan Taylor in my opinion was NOT OUT there. He wasn’t trying to run, and he wasn’t attempting a shot.
That’s a dead ball and the umpires got it wrong.
— Adam Theo🇿🇼🏏 (@AdamTheofilatos) July 18, 2021
— Rohit Sankar (@imRohit_SN) July 18, 2021
For more cricket-related news, click here.