Lowest ever BBL score: Full list of lowest Big Bash score in an innings

Dixit Bhargav
|Published January 22, 2022

Lowest ever BBL score: The defending champions appeared set to register one of the lowest scores in the Big Bash League.

During the Qualifier of the ongoing 11th season of the Big Bash League between Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers in Melbourne, Perth Scorchers beat Sydney Sixers by 49 runs to enter their sixth final. Having won 11 and lost three league matches, it is quite fitting that table-toppers Scorchers have become the first team to cement their spot in BBL 11 finals.

Chasing a 190-run target, defending champions Sixers were bundled out for 140 in 19.2 overs. Had it not been for fast bowler Ben Dwarshuis’ career-best 66 (29) comprising of seven fours and four sixes at No. 9, Sixers would’ve failed to even reach the 100-run mark.

In what was an all-round bowling effort by the Scorchers, all-rounder Ashton Agar was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 4-0-16-2. Other than Agar, fast-bowling trio of Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff and Andrew Tye also picked a couple of wickets each.

Perth captain Ashton Turner’s (0*) decision of electing to bat first after winning the toss was backed by opening batters Josh Inglis (79) and Kurtis Patterson (64) putting together a stroke-filled 120-run partnership which was brought to an end in the 13th over.

Sixers, who were the second-best team in the league stage, will get another shot at reaching the finals by defeating winner of Knockout (to be played between Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers tomorrow) in BBL 2021-22 Challenger on January 26.

Lowest ever BBL score (table updated on January 26, 2023)

Loading embed tweet https://twitter.com/AJFair85/status/1484849876920049666?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

Sixers, who were reduced to 55/7 in the 12th over at the Docklands Stadium today, might have registered one of the lowest ever BBL scores if Dwarshuis hadn’t scored a maiden T20 half-century. Below is the list of the lowest Big Bash innings scores:

S. No.ScoreOversTeamOppositionVenueYear
1155.5Sydney ThunderAdelaide StrikersSydney Showground Stadium2022
25712.4Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne StarsDocklands Stadium2015
36010.4Melbourne RenegadesSydney SixersBellerive Oval2020
46111.1Melbourne StarsSydney SixersSydney Cricket Ground2021
56214.4Sydney ThunderSydney SixersSydney Cricket Ground2023
66814.2Adelaide StrikersMelbourne StarsMCG2021
76915.2Perth ScorchersMelbourne StarsWACA2012
87316.4Brisbane HeatSydney SixersSCG2018
97413.4Sydney SixersMelbourne StarsMCG2019
107615.5Sydney SixersSydney ThunderSydney Showground Stadium2020

Share this article

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav

Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who is currently into his fifth year as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. His first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav