mobile app bar

IPL Team Owners 2019 : Details for all the Owners of IPL Teams | IPL 2019 News

Dixit Bhargav

IPL Team Owners 2019 : Details for all the Owners of IPL Teams | IPL 2019 News

Owners of IPL teams in 2019: Sportsrush presents before you list of owners of all IPL franchises ahead of IPL 2019.

Going by the latest reports, the fixtures of the 12th season of the Indian Premier League are all but likely to release next week. With the tournament slated to begin in less than two months now, the plentiful fans of the tournament are eagerly waiting for the complete schedule.

The Indian Premier League or any other sports league is primarily remembered by the names of the players who participate in it for it is them who are witnessed during the on-field action.

Having said that, there is another entity without which even the players will be dysfunctional. It is the owners of the franchises which run the show in its true sense for they form an integral and primary part of a tournament like the IPL. Below is the list of owners of IPL teams in 2019:

Owners of CSK in 2019

The three-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings is owned by former BCCI President N. Srinivasan’s India Cements. While CSK’s owners were India Cements initially, they were later changed to a separate entity (owned by the same person) named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd.

Owners of Delhi Capitals in 2019

Earlier known as Delhi Daredevils, the 12th season will be the first time when they will take the field under a different name in Delhi Capitals. The franchise is owned by GM Rao-owned GMR Group. It is worth mentioning that the franchise had sold its 50% stakes to JSW Sports last year.

Owners of Kings XI Punjab in 2019

Much like Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab is another of those franchises which is yet to win an IPL title since the last 11 years. Under the banner of ‘KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited’, the franchise is owned by Bollywood actress Priety Zinta, Ness Wadia (Wadia Group), Mohit Burman (Dabur India Ltd.), The Oberoi Group and Karan Paul (Apeejay Surrendra Group).

Owners of KKR in 2019

The two-time IPL-winning franchise Kolkata Knight Riders is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan (under the banner of Red Chillies Entertainment) and Bollywood actress Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta (under the banner of Mehta Group).

Owners of Mumbai Indians in 2019

Mumbai Indians, the first team to win three IPL titles and one of the topmost followed franchises in the competition, is owned by Mukesh Ambani and his wife Neeta Ambani (Reliance Industries).

Also Read : List of IPL Commentators

Owners of Rajasthan Royals in 2019

Rajasthan Royals, the first team to win the IPL title way back in 2008, is majorly owned by Manoj Badale. RR also has other investors which include Lachlan Murdoch, Aditya S Chellaram and Suresh Chellaram.

Owners of Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2019

Bought by Vijay Mallya in 2008, RCB is currently owned by Indian alcoholic beverage company named United Spirits. Other than Delhi and Punjab, Royal Challengers are the only team to have not won an IPL title despite playing in each edition.

Owners of Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2019

Sunrisers Hyderabad, who won their maiden IPL title in 2016, are owned by media baron Kalanithi Maran (Sun TV Network).

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav


Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who works as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. Having written more than 10,000 articles across more than five years at TSR, his first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav

Share this article