Rohit Sharma provides proof of being not out during India vs West Indies World Cup 2019 match
|Fri Jun 28 2019
Rohit Sharma provides proof of himself being not out after Third Umpire controversially ruled him out vs WI at Old Trafford, Machester
Team India’s Vice-captain and opening batsman, Rohit Sharma takes a clear dig primarily at the Third Umpire, Michael Gough who had controversially ruled him Out after the Windies skipper went in for the Decision Review System (DRS) upstairs.
There was a significant amount of doubt, as to whether the spike on the Ultra Edge showed a disturbance due to the ball’s deflection off the pad or the bat. While even the commentators at that moment were in a fix, wishing to have a look at more replays of the same, Michael Gough had no doubt whatsoever, and ruled him Out without much of a waste of time.
Even former cricketers like Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, RP Singh were of the view that it was a Not-out, and were of the opinion that that Gough should have taken a bit more time to overturn the on-field decision, which was in Rohit’s favour.
Rohit hits back
Post the dismissal, Rohit was clearly unhappy and reluctant to leave the field after watching the three-lettered red words on the giant screen. Even his wife, Ritika Sajdeh present in the stands was dumbstruck for ruling the decision in the bowling team’s favour.
The 32-year-old has thus come up with his ‘proof’ showing that he had clearly not nicked the ball with his bat. Via his Twitter handle, Rohit has posted a magnified image of the ball beating his bat, and had deflected off his pad to the Windies keeper Shai Hope.
Talking about the dismissal, it all happened quite early on in the innings, in the 6th over. Windies pacer, Kemar Roach bowled an excellent inswinging delivery to Rohit Sharma as the ball went between the bat and the pad through to the wicket-keeper Shai Hope.
After ruling Rohit Out, the angry fans took to their social media handles, to malign the Third Umpire Michael Gough.
Here is the proof provided by Rohit Sharma
— Rohit Sharma (@ImRo45) June 28, 2019
Even his IPL frachise Mumbai Indians (MI) came with a cheeky reply to their skipper’s tweet
— Mumbai Indians (@mipaltan) June 28, 2019