Jan Blachowicz puts an end to Israel Adesanya’s double champ pursuit at UFC 259

Archie Blade
|Published 07/03/2021

Jan Blachowicz puts an end to Israel Adesanya’s double champ pursuit at UFC 259. The encounter lasted all five rounds before going to decision.

UFC Middleweight Champion Israel Adesanya hoped to win the Lightheavyweight title championship to hold both titles at the same time. However, his chase was denied by the reigning champion Jan Blachowicz who went all five rounds with his opponent before retaining via unanimous decision.

Also read: Amanda Nunes destroys Megan Anderson in first round of UFC 259 encounter

The Lightheavyweight title bout between both of them was the main event of the night. An intriguing clash awaited fans and they were not disspointed as the two put on an entertaining display worthy of a pay per view main event that many hoped for.

Jan Blachowicz puts an end to Israel Adesanya’s double champ pursuit at UFC 259

Adesanya tried to rely on his kicks in this match while Blachowicz’s approach was based around his boxing. The defending champion was very cautios, so much so that he seemed to hesitant while Adesanya took over him with his striking in the third round.

By rounds 4th and 5th, Blachowicz switched tactics and decided to grapple his opponent. He took Adesanya down early in the 4th round and gained full mount over him in the 5th round.

The Light heavyweight champion registered his first ever title defence via unanimous decision. He has now won 9 of his last 10 matches, 5 of which are on the trot.

Adesanya, on the other hand, has registered his first ever loss in his professional MMA Career. He is still in possesion of the middleweight championship though.

Further results from UFC 259:

Amanda Nunes def. Megan Anderson via submission (armbar) – Round 1, 2:03 – to defend women’s featherweight title

Aljamain Sterling def. Petr Yan via disqualification (illegal knee) – Round 4, 4:29 – to become UFC bantamweight champion

Islam Makhachev def. Drew Dober via submission (arm-triangle choke) – Round 3, 1:37

Aleksandar Rakic def. Thiago Santos via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Dominick Cruz def. Casey Kenney via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

Kyler Phillips def. Song Yadong via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Askar Askarov def. Joseph Benavidez via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Kai Kara-France def. Rogerio Bontorin via TKO (punch) – Round 1, 4:55

Tim Elliott def. Jordan Espinosa via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-25)

Kennedy Nzechukwu def. Carlos Ulberg via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 3:19

Sean Brady def. Jake Matthews via submission (arm-triangle choke) – Round 3, 3:28

Amanda Lemos def. Livinha Souza via TKO (punch) – Round 1, 3:39

Uros Medic def. Aalon Cruz via TKO (strikes) – Round 1, 1:40

Trevin Jones def. Mario Bautista via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 0:47

Click here for more UFC News

Share this article
About the author
Archie Blade

Archie Blade

Archie is a WWE and UFC Editor/Author at the SportsRush. Like most combat sports enthusiasts, his passion for watching people fight began with WWE when he witnessed a young Brock Lesnar massacre Hulk Hogan back in 2002. This very passion soon branched out to boxing and mixed martial arts. Over the years he fell in love with the theatrics that preceded the bell and the poetic carnage that followed after. Each bruise a story to tell, each wound a song of struggle, his greatest desire is to be there to witness it all. His favorite wrestler is Shawn Michaels and he believes that GSP is the greatest to ever step foot inside the octagon. Apart from wrestling, he is also fond of poetry and music.

Read more from Archie Blade