mobile app bar

“OMG WHAT EVEN WAS THAT”: Michael Neser boundary catch ignites Twitter debate around legality of such catches

Dixit Bhargav

"OMG WHAT EVEN WAS THAT": Michael Neser boundary catch ignites Twitter debate around legality of such catches

In spite of being the pick of the bowlers across both teams, Brisbane Heat fast bowler Michael Neser (3/41) had to take a spectacular boundary catch to turn the tables in the recently concluded Big Bash League 2022-23 Match 25 against Sydney Sixers at the Gabba.

Needing 26 runs off 11 balls with a couple of batters capable of sealing the chase, the match witnessed one of the best boundary catches in the history of the tournament. With SS batter Jordan Silk (41) hitting a full and wide Mark Steketee delivery towards Neser at long-off, nerves were aplenty with respect to the possible outcome.

Neser, who completed the catch at first, had to cross the boundary rope to manage his momentum. Having aimed at lobbing the ball in the air, momentum saw Neser lobbing it across the boundary rope. The 32-year old player then somehow managed to be airborne in time to lob the ball back into the playing area.

A completely aware and agile Neser followed his dual attempt with entering the playing area before completing a mind-blowing catch in the third attempt.

With the onus falling entirely on him, Sydney all-rounder Sean Abbott (14) couldn’t take his team past the victory line as the visitors were bowled out for 209 in 20 overs in their pursuit of chasing down a 225-run target.

Michael Neser boundary catch

It is noteworthy that the catch was declared legal because Neser ticked two crucial aspects (first point of contact with the ball inside the playing area and last point of contact with the ball after stepping on to the playing area) while claiming a catch of such nature.

Not playing this match, Heat batter Matthew Renshaw had perhaps claimed the first such debatable catch in the BBL’s 12-season history. Co-incidentally, Renshaw’s catch had also come at the exact same spot where Neser did this thing tonight.

“I knew [Matthew] Renshaw did it a couple [three] of years ago. I didn’t know if they changed the rules. Thankfully, they didn’t change the rules. I knew the rule but wasn’t sure of they had changed it. I thought I would give it a try,” Neser told 7 Cricket in a post-match interview involving a teammate.

How Twitterati reacted:

A high-scoring contest required Sixers to register the highest successful BBL run-chase in order to win their fifth match of the season. Failing to do the same, Sixers’ third loss ended up becoming Heat’s second victory of the season.

About the author

Dixit Bhargav

Dixit Bhargav


Born and brought up in Pathankot, Dixit Bhargav is an engineering and sports management graduate who works as a Cricket Editor at The SportsRush. Having written more than 10,000 articles across more than five years at TSR, his first cricketing memory dates back to 2002 when former India captain Sourav Ganguly had waved his jersey at the historic Lord’s balcony. What followed for an 8-year-old was an instant adulation for both Ganguly and the sport. The optimist in him is waiting for the day when Punjab Kings will win their maiden Indian Premier League title. When not watching cricket, he is mostly found in a cinema hall watching a Punjabi movie.

Read more from Dixit Bhargav

Share this article