This incident occurred in the second innings of the MI vs RCB match two nights ago. MI were on course to winning the match, as the RCB batsmen failed to support their skipper Virat Kohli.
While Twitter was praising Virat Kohli for his brilliant knock, one particular user noticed a monumental goof-up by Star Sports. Bumrah had Umesh Yadav caught, when the umpires went upstairs to check if Bumrah had overstepped the crease.
The replays showed that Bumrah was way behind the line, and thus Yadav was given out. But on closer examination, we can see that when Bumrah’s foot landed behind the crease, Yadav was at the non-striker’s end, when it fact it should have been Kohli!
One Twitter user, @ronak_169 noticed this and demanded answers from BCCI and Star Sports. This incident will now open a whole new box of questions, as people will wonder whether or not this was a mistake.
The IPL is not shy of controversies, as the cash-rich tournament has gone through the ugly phase of match fixing and spot fixing, with several stars being put behind bars for their part in these events.
So I was just watching the replay of Umesh Yadav getting out. When they checked for the no ball, they showed Umesh Yadav on non strike. @imVkohli @IPL @StarSportsIndia #Fail #Cheat @RCBTweets pic.twitter.com/WVBO1s9YrP
— Ronak (@ronak_169) April 17, 2018
From 4:32-5:02 you can see clearly umesh yadav gets out and it’s kohli and his mrf bat on Monday strike. But when they check for the no ball it’s umesh yadav and his SG bat on non strike. @StarSportsIndia @IPL cheating it’s viewers? @RCBTweets DIG IN.
— Ronak (@ronak_169) April 18, 2018
BCCI and Star Sports will now have a lot of questions to answer themselves, as they will try to get to the bottom of this incident. One hopes for the sanctity of the game that this was just an isolated incident, and not something far more sinister!